RSHE Curriculum at Westfield School

The RSHE Curriculum at Westfield School promotes the spiritual, moral, cultural, mental and physical development of pupils and helps to prepare them for the opportunities, responsibilities and experiences of later life.

Our aim is that through our RSHE programme pupils acquire the knowledge, understanding and skills they need to manage their lives now and in the future. Our RSHE Curriculum helps to develop the qualities and attributes pupils need to thrive as individuals, family members and members of society.

At Westfield School we use a spiral RSHE programme which ensures that learning is revisited, reinforced and extended in age- and stage-appropriate contexts. This programme is based on the ‘Jigsaw’ programme, ‘The mindful approach to RSHE’.

‘Jigsaw’ is a comprehensive Scheme of Learning for RSHE including Emotional literacy, Social Skills and Spiritual Development. It is divided into six ‘core themes’ for foundation stage, KS1 and KS2.

Autumn Term 1:  Being Me in my World

The pupils learn about the importance of respecting themselves and others, about rights and responsibilities. They find out about the importance of responsible behaviours, rewards and consequences.

Autumn Term 2:  Celebrating Difference

The pupils learn about the importance of respecting similarities and differences between people. They learn about equality and diversity and find out how people live in different parts of the World. They learn about bullying behaviours and they find out what to do if they are worried.

Spring Term 1:  Dreams and Goals

The pupils learn about recognising and celebrating their own and others’ achievements. They identify their own strength and find out how to set aspirational targets for themselves.

Spring Term 2: Relationships

 The pupils learn how to develop and maintain positive, healthy relationships, how to recognise and manage their emotions. They find out how to resolve differences by seeing and respecting others’ points of view, making decisions and explaining choices.

Summer term 1: Healthy Me

The pupils learn about maintaining healthy lifestyles, keeping physically and emotionally safe.  They find out about managing risks and how they can resist peer pressure. They learn about keeping safe on and off-line and learn about medicines and drugs. For further details of our Drug and Alcohol Education programme please see PSHE Overview, ‘Healthy Me’ folder.

Summer Term 2: Changing Me

The pupils learn about the main stages of the human life cycle and they look at changes that happen when a child grows up. They discuss ways of coping with change and where to get help if they are worried. We teach Sex and Relationship education as part of the ‘Changing Me’ topic during PSHE lessons. To find out more information about our SRE programme, please see details in the RSHE Overview.

RSHE Curriculum Overview